INTERVIEW WITH ‘A PRODIGY…’

 

Full name: Adebajo Adekunle Fisayo

Your Email: kunslens@gmail.com

What’s your Blog’s name and URL: The Prodigy’s Ratiocinations: www.adekunleadebajo.wordpress.com

What’s your Blog about: the blog basically revolves around sharing an insight into my held opinions regarding various aspects of life (politics, society, academics, theology etc.), through the use of poems, articles, debate and presentation topics. It also encompasses pieces of information which the author deems necessary and fit for public consumption.

What do you do: we use our publications to enlighten and re-orient our readership, not forgetting to entertain them in the process. Edutainment is our watchword.

Who are your readers: they range from students to poets, from professionals who need source materials, to anyone who simply enjoys a good write-up.

What’s the greatest thing about your blog: though ‘the prodigy’s ratiocinations’ may not yet be popular, it has contributed one way or the other to the society. It gives me a perfect medium to showcase my abilities, share my views and right social wrongs in the little way I can. It is to me, a boon companion. That, I believe, is just awesome.

Why is it better than other blogs: it is better than many other blogs due to its originality and the universal applicability of some of its contents.

How’d you come up with the name for your blog: it resulted from the deep musings and ratiocinations of a prodigy, a would-be legend.

What was your first blogging experience: I have none prior to the time I created ‘the prodigy’s ratiocinations’.

How did you first get into the world of blogging: this was through the WordPress android app. I downloaded. After creating the blog, I have had no regrets.

What time do you usually start blogging: whenever I find convenient. No fixed time.

How many hours a day do you usually blog: for now, at most, between 3 and 4 hours.

What major problems is your blog coming to address: the problems of ignorance and disorientation in whatever field; grammatical, political, religious, legal, social and so on.

When do your best ideas come to you? In bed in the morning? During dinner? On your third beer? Or?: I could be trekking, eating, reading news, about to sleep, praying, just about any time.

A lot of people have big ideas. What gave you the courage to go after yours: a picture of the near-future, the desire to be heard and appreciated.

When’s the last time you went on vacation and where did you go to: some months back, Lagos.

Remember the early days of starting up? Describe the struggles you went through: lack of a personal computer was a major challenge, coupled with a limited access to the internet.

How do you handle frustration: I take a time-off, and do something pleasurable (like sleep, eat, go on a trekking spree or game) to relax.

What has been your biggest professional frustration: working hard to get something published, only for it not to be read (as expected). Not too big a deal though.

What’s your blogging environment like: just like ‘home’, no strict deadlines, no explicit restrictions, just having fun and making impact.

Do you listen to music: not as the average person does, very minimal and rare.

Watch movies: not frequent, but I enjoy watching good intellectual and mind-boggling movies.

Play video games: not that frequently too. I only do on a few occasions using my PC.

How do you picture your blog in 5 years: I see it as a leading blog for getting beneficial, life-changing information; a blog which government visits for guidance in decision-making.

Who or what inspires you: my readers and their inspiring comments.

Role models: Malcolm X, Gani Fawehinmi.

Quotes: ‘speak clearly if you speak at all, carve every word before you let it fall’ (Oliver Wendell Holmes), ‘all that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing’ (Edmund Burke), ‘a journey of a thousand miles must begin with a step’ (Lao Tzu).

Video games: PES 2011, Unreal Tournament, Mortal kombat.

Snack food: mince pie, doughnut, sausage roll.

How’d you currently make money off your blog: I had not given monetising my blog a serious thought until ‘Cambiar blogs’ gave me a call. Hopefully, I won’t be disappointed.

What other advice do you have for other wanna-be bloggers struggling to get started: make originality, diligence and steadfastness your slogans.

What would you do if you had a year off and 50,000,000 to spend (on something other than blogging): I would invest judiciously in ICT, agriculture and import/export business.

Do you consider yourself a successful blogger? If not, what will make you feel successful: I do not yet consider myself successful at blogging, and having this feeling will naturally be a function of how much impact I’m able to make, and how much I’m able to gain as well through blogging.

Top 5 websites you couldn’t live without and why: Nairaland.com, Facebook.com, Naijawriterscoach.com, WordPress.com, ipage.com. They all assist me in getting and sharing virtual information, quickly and easily.

What is your music genre of choice: if I were to be a music enthusiast, then I would have much preference for ‘blues’.

Number 1 country you’ve always wanted to visit but haven’t yet? And why that country: there is no country in particular, I wish to be able to travel across the globe with ease one day. However, I hope I would be able to gain a scholarship to study in Harvard University (U.S) for my PhD programme.

Three people (other than you) we should follow on Twitter or BBM and why: @OxygenMat, @naijacontests, @aminugamawa. They keep me informed on happenings in the world of writing, and socio-politics.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

