WHO AM I TO JUDGE?

image

WHO AM I TO JUDGE?

WHO AM I TO JUDGE?

I, A MERE MORTAL MADE OF GRIME

WHO AM I TO EVEN GRUDGE?

CAST STONE ON OTHERS, WHEN THEY DO CRIME

 

I AM BUT A SERVANT OF THE GOD OF ROME

A DEVOUT DISCIPLE OF HIS EMISSARY

I AM BUT A FOLLOWER OF THE HOLY TOME

THOUGH I MAY NOT GRASP IT UTTERLY

 

MY MOTHER SOLD ME OUT IN SLAVERY

TO FOREVER TOIL IN A TERRAIN I KNOW NOT

THOUGH SHE WAS RICHEST IN THE CITY

SIMPLY DEEMED ME A BURDEN TOO MUCH

 

I HAD NEITHER CHOICE NOR SAY

IN WHAT WAS TO AFFECT ME FOREVER

I HATED HER SO MUCH THAT DAY

BUT WHO AM I TO POINT A FINGER?

 

MY BEST FRIEND ONCE SWINDLED ME

BORROWED MY SLIGHT, SMALL, LITTLE PAY

AND THEN SUDDENLY, HE FLEES

NO TIME WAS I EVER AS BETRAYED

 

HE CAME BACK, PLEADED AND I FORGAVE

BUT THEN HE FLED AGAIN, NOW WITH MY WIFE

MY INNERSELF BURNED WITH GREAT RAGE

BUT WHO AM I TO MOAN OR WHINE?

 

 

 

 

DEVOTED IN WORSHIP TO THE MOST-HIGH

I SWIFTLY SOUGHT OUT A NOBLE PRIEST

HE ASSURED ME SUPER-HEAVEN IN THIS LIFE

IF ONLY I SOW ONE-TENTH MY EARNINGS

 

ONE DAY, I SAW MY GOOD PRIEST ON A STEED

TREADING MY PATH, I WAVED THAT HE MAY STOP

ALAS! HE SNUBBED ME, OR SO IT SEEMED

WHO AM I, TO CONDEMN, I AM JUST A SLOB

 

I REMEMBER TOO, ONE POOR, FRAIL GENT

WHO CAME TO MY CABIN TO PRAY

NOT FOR FOOD, BUT MY CONSENT

THAT HE MAY RULE THE WHOLE POPULACE

 

I TRUSTED AND GAVE HIM MY BACKING

THEN, AFTER HE BECAME A REVERED SOVEREIGN

HE LOCKED ME UP FOR STREETBEGGING

BUT HEY, WHO AM I TO COMPLAIN?

 

WHO AM I TO JUDGE?

I, A MERE MORTAL MADE OF GRIME

WHO AM I TO EVEN GRUDGE?

CAST STONE ON OTHERS, WHEN THEY DO CRIME

 

NAY! IN SILENCE I SHALL SPEND MY LIFE

IN LACK, I HAVE BEEN; IN LACK, I WILL EVER BE

PERHAPS, I CAN BLAME FATE FOR MY PLIGHT?

DEFINITELY NOT OTHERS, FOR I AM NOT ‘HE’!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

image

Leave a Reply

