WHERE ART THOU?

poverty1.jpg.pagespeed.ce.2KWVtPR9uN

WHERE ART THOU?

I HAVE LOOKED AND LOOKED
MY EYES ARE WEARY
I HAVE WALKED AND WALKED
MY LIMBS ARE UNSTEADY

I HAVE SEARCHED THE WHOLE NATION
YET FUTILE IS MY EXERTION
THE PRESENT AND FUTURE I HAVE SEEN
STILL NO SIGN OF THEE

I LOOK TO THE HEAD
SAID REPRESENTATION OF ALL
I FIND, IT IS MUCH CROOKED
FULL OF PRETENCE, SECRETS AND FRAUDS

I LOOK TO THE COMMONALITY
AND ALL I CAN SEE IS POVERTY
A MASS OF UNBOUND SLAVES
AN OCEAN OF DILIGENT ILLITERATES

I LOOK TO THE SHEPHERDS
BUT THE WORST OF MEN, I REGARD
AFFLUENT SPEAKERS, UNQUESTIONED TYRANTS
MASTERS IN THE DECEPTIVE ART

I LOOK TO MAN’S LAST SOURCE OF HOPE
OR IS IT HIS LAST SOURCE OF WOE?
HAMMERING HARD ON PETTY OFFENDERS
GOING BLIND, ON SEEING LOADED DEFENDANTS

I LOOK TO THE YOUNG ONES
WITH PROFOUND FAITH AND FERVOR
LEADERS OF TOMORROW, I HEAR YOU SAY?
NO! WHAT GREETS THE EYE IS SURELY NO RAY

NO WHERE IS SAFE
NO THING IS CERTAIN
NOT A PUPIL’S GRADUATION TIME
NOT THE HOURS WE SPEND AS NIGHT

BAD NEWS MEET MY EARS DAILY
UGLY SIGHTS SHAKE MY HEAD REPEATEDLY
LEADERS GIVE NO DAMN ABOUT THEIR FOLLOWERS
THEY, DO NOT CARE ABOUT ONE ANOTHER

ON, I LOOK, BUT I SEE NOT
HARD, I LISTEN, BUT I HEAR NOT
IF YOU SAY STILL, THAT THERE IS HOPE
THEN SHOW ME, WHERE IS ITS ABODE?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

