INDEED A GIANT

image

image

INDEED A GIANT

 

GROWING UP AND MATURE

I HAVE COME TO BE PROUD OF MY MOTHERLAND

FOR HER MANY FEATS AND ACHIEVEMENTS

INFACT, SHE HAS EARNED THE ALIAS

GIANT OF AFRICA!

MY DEAR MOTHERLAND, I’LL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT OF AFRICA

 

MY MOTHERLAND

PROMINENT FOR POVERTY AND INFAMOUS FOR CORRUPTION

WHERE POLITICS IS A FULL-TIME OCCUPATION

WHERE IT IS THE EASIEST CHANNEL TO PROFUSION

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF MY MOTHERLAND

FOR SHE IS INDEED A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE MATERIALISM IS THE ORDER OF THE DAY

WHERE MONEY CAN TAKE YOU ALL THE WAY

WHERE THE PEOPLE FIGHT EVERYDAY

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE THE PRESIDENT THINKS HIS POWER ABSOLUTE

WHERE LEADERS RECEIVE ALLOWANCES FOR ALL THEY DO

WHERE LAW-MAKERS CLAMOUR FOR SALARY BOOST

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE JUSTICE USES SPECTACLES

AND THE COURT BEFRIENDS THE WELL-TO-DO

WHERE VIOLENCE IS THE LAST HOPE OF THE DESTITUTE

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE REFINERIES ARE NOT WORKING

WHERE, BY THE DAY, FUEL PRICE IS RISING

WHERE FILLING STATIONS ARE EVERYWHERE BUT FUEL IS SCANTY

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE THE AVERAGE POLICEMAN HAS A POT-BELLY

AND THE ONLY LANGUAGE HE UNDERSTANDS IS MONEY

WHERE SECURITY IS JUST FOR THE  WEALTHY

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE THE ROADS ARE BATTLEFIELDS

PLIED MOSTLY BY JALOPIES

WHERE ALL CARS ARE FROM OVERSEAS

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE TRULY A GIANT

 

MY MOTHERLAND

WHERE EVERY COMMODITY IS IMPORTED

WHERE EVERY BIG COMPANY IS IMPORTED

AND WHERE ALL EXPERTS ARE NOT EXEMPTED

I WILL ALWAYS BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT

 

O MY MOTHERLAND!

I KNOW NOT HOW ELSE TO EULOGISE YOU

I KNOW NOT WHAT ELSE TO SAY ABOUT YOU

VERILY, NO LAND CAN OUTDO YOU

I WILL FOREVER BE PROUD OF YOU

FOR YOU ARE INDEED A GIANT!

Leave a Reply

